In the words of Jocelyn O.

Write Out the Crappy

Writer’s block. Some say it exists. Others think it’s an excuse.

I’m not sure what it is I have, but for awhile now I can’t think of what to write. And I actually have quite a number of things to write about, but I’ve let this fear overtake me again; the fear that no one cares about what I’m writing about. The fear that what I’m writing about is pointless. The fear that what I’m writing is just horrible.

I said I would get over this and just write, that once I let things flow everything else would just fall into place and for awhile it did, but now I’m reverting to what I used to feel, and I’m not sure why.

I know that each day that I let go by without writing is another day lost. I LOVE WRITING. I LOVE WORDS. What is the big deal? Why am I making it this scary thing for me, when it isn’t? I read other people’s blogs all the time, almost everyday in fact and it is inspiring. I see how some people write beautifully and others not so great, but at the end they just write. There are so many different reasons that an individual can have for writing, but the point is that they do it and stick with it.

I also realized that I don’t need to panic about not commenting on every single blog post, written by every single person I follow, each and every day. It is impossible to do that!!!! I think what matters is that you touch base as much as you can, and when you do read a person’s post let them know through a like or comment. I no longer feel like a bad blog neighbor because I realized that – I think every single blogger will understand that we all have different things going on in our lives. Some days are busier than others. Some days we can spend quite some time on the computer and others not so much. I understand exactly why a comment is such a big deal. Someone took a couple of minutes of their precious time to read your post, and not only did they read through it, but something caught their attention enough to leave you a comment. That’s worth a lot right there. I brought this up because this was something that bothered me so much before – not commenting on every single blog post, everyday- that it kept me from writing my own posts because I felt like I shouldn’t be greedy and expect others to read my posts when I didn’t always get to read theirs. Now I get that is not how it works.

Sometimes I sit and think why am I even trying to blog? As I said before, I read other blogs and they write such funny, inspirational or thought provoking posts. And here I am with such *blah* material. Seriously?

So I wrote this post because I’m hoping to cleanse myself of all negative writing/blogging related thoughts. Because I want to persist in what I started. And I know the only way I will get better is by continuing on this journey I began. I once read that you basically need to always write because often crappy stuff will come out, but if you don’t write the crappy out of your system, the amazing that you have stored away will not be able to surface.

Here’s hoping that my “amazing” writing is getting closer to seeing the “light at the end of the tunnel” soon!

Comments on: "Write Out the Crappy" (2)

  1. I thought a realistic goal would be to post something everyday. I in fact saw that the content of my posts became weak when I attempted this. I still try to update my blog as much as I can, but I only want to add value to it, not just words. There is so much to take into consideration when having a blog. I don’t think most people realize that unless they have one. Not only do we want to write, but we want people to read what we write, and gaining a following is tons of work in itself.

    • LifebyJocie said:

      It makes a LOT of sense. And yes, if you are serious about blogging – you don’t realize what it takes to have one until you have your own. I think I mentioned in one of my older posts that I started off Post A Day with the intent to make me just write- I didn’t care so much about the quality as the quantity, but that quickly changed. And the pressure of writing everyday, at least right now, is too much for me. Instead of focusing on writing a good post, I linger on feeling bad for not posting a day.

      Thanks for your comment. It reassures me that not posting daily- is NOT necessarily a failure, but more like my attempt at succeeding in the long run by writing posts with better content, which I’ll likely enjoy more anyways 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

