In the words of Jocelyn O.

Overload

Ideas.

Sometimes there’s a shortage of them. Others – my case at the moment- there is an abundance of them.

You may think this is great: go with it, make the most of it, etc. You may think sort those ideas out and saved the unused ones for another time – for the times when the shortage comes.

You are right, BUT I can’t. You see, here is another confession I must make; when I feel overwhelmed as if too much is going on, I don’t embrace it (in any area of my life) I shut down. The moment I feel like I can’t conquer everything perfectly I just, somehow, all by myself, press the off button somewhere inside of me.

This is BAD. VERY bad. This leads to me accomplishing nothing and usually ending up more overwhelmed than what I was initially (you’d think I learn, right?).
I tend to take on many things at once and want to do them all perfectly. That’s not the way it works.

SHUTTING DOWN = RUNNING AWAY = BAD = NEVER REALLY SOLVING THE ISSUE.

For the first time ever- really – I’m writing it down. Not just admitting it in words carried by air waves – nope. It’s written in stone (virtual anyways).

What does that mean? It means I can’t deny it and I have to face it.

How does this relate to my idea abundance issue? Well, I’m going to write down all those ideas I have using Evernote. I am going to plan them out and possibly prewrite future blog posts. This is pretty exciting for me. I had set up a sort of outline of what I wanted to post about on each day of the week (with a break on Sundays). I’ve freaked myself for not following it to the letter, which is ridiculous, because it’s caused me not to write at all.

So here I am, writing a post I had not given any thought to. I didn’t know I was going to write this now and I like that.

Also, I’ve gotten much better at reading/commenting on more recent posts. My “A Blog’s History Project” has been on hold honestly, but that’s fine because I’m in no rush. Between keeping up to date with newer posts and reading older ones I rather keep up to date, but I’m still working on it.

A few tid bits regarding my knitting:

I messed up the scarf – for like the 7-9th time now- I lost count. I was really upset and did not want to admit it on here, but I’ve started again and will update in another post about that.

A few tid bits regarding piano:

We just had our 3rd recital since the academy first opened the music program (April 18th, 2011 which is also when I started working there). It was a wonderful recital and the first one held outside of the Academy. This will also be updated about in a separate post.

I’ve learned one thing from reading others blogs and also from my own experiences. The only way to accomplish what you want to accomplish is by “keeping on keeping on”. Seriously. No matter how much you feel like you have been set back. How many obstacles you see (or make for yourself). If you have a dream or a goal, you actually can achieve it (as cliched as that sounds), but the only way to do so is by trekking a long a little bit everyday. The days that you are to tired and feel to down to do anything about anything will come.

Just make up for getting behind, by walking an extra mile on the days you feel like you can conquer the world.

One more thing, if along your trek you find another person that has stopped walking: take a moment to see if you can help or encourage them. If you come upon a person that’s keeping a steady pace: follow their example. In other words, you should never feel as if you are alone in what you are doing. There are others out there as well – and we should all remember that sometimes we will help someone and other times we will need the help.

Comments on: "Overload" (2)

  1. Loved your post. I’m almost the opposite. I tend to work/think/create the best when my calendar has very little white space on it. Freaks out the rest of the household, so I’m guessing I get more than a little nuts at times.

    I’m kept on track by my obsession with lists. Actually notebooks and tablets full of lists. Journals of items crossed off my lists.

    The only thing I haven’t been successful in writing down are my Ideas. Your post has me thinking on that…………

    • LifebyJocie said:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ And wow! I wish I could do that. I would like to get into more of keeping lists/notebooks. I have been doing that a bit with Evernote, but I still can’t let go entirely of physical paper.

      I have an app on my iPhone which I have started to use to list the tasks I want to complete for the day. So I’ll write 5/2 Fold clothes for example. That way everything I was to complete on 5/2 will go in order and I can click completed when done.

      The great things about lists is when you can cross something off it you really start to feel a sense of accomplishment. You feel as if you are actually getting somewhere and I like seeing and feeling that.

      I’m sure you could write a great post on how you keep track of things with lists! I’d definitely love to read that.

      As far as ideas, time for a new notebook for your lists of ideas? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

