In the words of Jocelyn O.

To Knitting… Part 2

Let me start off by saying that I am writing this post with some beautiful background music that I must recommend for you to check out!

If you like instrumental music/piano/cello/modern songs played instrumentally, please and please check The Piano Guys out!

This is taken from their official YouTube page (linked here):

“Our vision is to create music and videos that inspire & uplift. We want to take that music to the world and make a difference. We like to put a new spin on classic stuff and a classic spin on new stuff. Whatever we do, we put our heart and souls into every note and frame.”

That’s exactly what they have done from what I see and hear in videos I’ve been watching. I am just really enjoying their work and wanted to share with you all. Here’s a link to their website: The Piano Guys.

Well now, onto my knitting. As you may know I have been working on a “scarf” for quite some time now. And guess what?

Scarf in Progress

This is the scarf that has finally progressed. Since my last post I only unraveled it once and then finally got it to where it is now in the picture (taken 4/11/12).

Scarf in Progress

Being the novice I am, I originally purchased 1 skein of yarn for my "scarf." I went this weekend to JoAnn's and found the same exact color and bought 2 more skeins. I am unsure if it's the same dye lot, but my eyes can't perceive any difference.

If you compare this to where I was at in the picture in this post, I’ve come a long way.

*A side note* When I decide to learn to knit I bought the books I mentioned in the above post and had no idea what I was going to do so I just bought the 1 skein of yarn. The book tells you to cast on 24 stitches and knit for as long as you want the scarf to be and then bind off. This is how this came to be my first “project”.

Honestly I haven’t even been knitting every day or nearly as much as I’d like so I’m content with where I’ve gotten to so far, but I’m anxious to finish. I’ll have to teach myself how to add on another skein when I am close to running out of thread from my current one (I’m a little worried about messing everything up honestly in going through that process). The 2nd skein I bought is just to teach my little cousin on our “Friday Afternoon Knitting Date” this Friday. I’m super excited about that; I do have a brand new pair of size 8 bamboo needles, which might be appropriate for such a little girl.  The good thing is she is still too young to learn the more complicated aspects of knitting- that gives me time to actually learn those complicated things myself hehe.

So that’s where I’m at with my knitting. I know it is not much, but I don’t want to get all crazy until I’m sure I’ve got my basics down then I can branch out to searching for patterns and attempting more interesting projects.

While at JoAnn’s I purchased the knitting magazine: Knit Simple – Spring/Summer 2012 issue. I have not read it, but will probably be discussing it in my next knitting post.

In my attempt to learn more about the knitting world I began searching for knitting podcasts. There are 2 that I have been listening to ( I have yet to hear the newer episodes since I’m starting from the beginning -it’s one of my pet peeves to not do most things in chronological order), but I really enjoy them and definitely recommend them.

The one I have been listening to non stop and keeps me entertained in my commutes is Knitting Pipeline. If you click the name it’ll link you to the podcast’s blog. The host Paula is absolutely fabulous from what I’ve heard so far. She is an experienced knitter, but is knowledgeable in other topics and very passionate in what she speaks about so please stop by her blog and find her podcast on iTunes.

The other podcast I am listening to a lot is Never Not Knitting. The host, Alana, stopped podcasting in October 2011, but she is quite funny to listen to and there are 60 episodes you can catch up on 🙂

I’ve come to realize that when you discover something you really enjoy it’s important to share with others. If it weren’t for another person recommending, talking about, Facebooking, texting me, and etc. about a song, book, movie, blog, and so on there are many wonderful things I now enjoy that I may never have discovered.

So please, when you really like something tell the world, chances are there will be many more who will enjoy it along with you.

On that note, if there’s anything at all you’d like to share, don’t be shy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

