In the words of Jocelyn O.

It all started today

Today, Tuesday, November 1st, 2011 began an important adventure for many: NaNoWriMo.

I excitedly texted my friend: NaNoWriMo starts today! We began talking about when we were going to write and our possible way of doing so. I have not written my 1,667 words for the day, but decided to write a blog post before starting.

I started searching for a notebook in which I have various ideas written, but I just can not find it! This is very upsetting to me, but I do know it is not lost, just misplaced somewhere… I will admit this discouraged me just a bit, but I do have some ideas readily available in my mind and will worry about searching for the notebook when I have more time. The other -very trivial- matter I can not get past is what program or via which way to write my novel. This is probably a very dumb problem to have, but there are just things that bother me and this is one of them. I have various programs that I could use and what I truly and really want is just a place to write without a whole mess of clutter. I do not really want to use Microsoft Word because it’s great for writing essays, but not very inspirational to my creativity of writing a novel. I also have Scrivener, which I started to read the tutorial in-program and it’s a very awesome program, but I don’t have the patience to figure anything out right now. Not so much the patience, as the time because I have an exam this Friday that I need to study for, but after that I’ll be okay (until finals). I decided that next semester I will only take one class because honestly I want to focus on my writing and piano playing – things I can not truly focus on if I’m swamped with studying.

I want to get some writing done before bed, but I did want to share with you my first day of NaNoWriMo. It has not been a day full of writing progress, but the fact that I am sitting down and writing it all is a lot of progress for my tendency towards procrastination.

 

To all my NaNoWriMers out there: let this month be a month full of love for the art of writing. Do it for yourself. Do it because you love it – that needs to be your focus this month.

I leave you with a link to a very inspirational blog, and specifically a reminder to what should really matter to a writer: Writer’s Manifesto by Jeff Goins

Comments on: "It all started today" (4)

  1. I wanna try Scrivener, but I left it aside so it wouldn’t bog me down as I wrote. Word works fine for me; my biggest problem is wandering away from Word to do other things (like right now!). Worst case scenario, use Notepad: just pure, stripped-down text and nothing else.

    • I’ve been trying out writing on good ‘ol pen and paper as well as Evernote. I like that with Evernote I can simply log in to any computer or my iPod and begin writing from where I left off and it’s not cluttery when you maximize it.

      • I’ve tried to get into Evernote but to no avail. It just doesn’t flow for me. As for writing longhand, I have a couple of published friends who write their novels like that, so it can certainly work. Not for me, though. I’ve enough trouble writing in my journal!

      • At the end of the day, you have to write the way that lets your thoughts run best for you. That’s what matters!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

