In the words of Jocelyn O.

It’s begun…

So, I have been working on some blog research for the past few days and plan to continue doing so. I have discovered a lot of great tips and advice on how to create and keep an enticing blog. I plan to put a lot of these into practice in the next following weeks.

One of the things I have to find out though, which I will ask a person whose blog I encountered, is when I read something I find interesting in a person’s blog and decide to mention it in my own I will obviously credit and link to the post/blog, but do I need to ask permission of the blog owner every time to credit them or can I just credit them and that will suffice? Big question of the week.

Part of  my research includes how to structure my blog. There are plenty of things I would love to write about and I don’t plan on limiting myself to one subject, but I do want to have some sort of format that will designate – most of the time anyways- when I discuss a certain subject or not. All of this and more is in the works as I work towards my goal of a consistent and enjoyable blog. I’m also dealing with other things such as life: hubby, family & friends, school, my jobs, little side projects here and there and most importantly trying to become a better Christian by making God a priority in my life. Little by little I’m figuring out there are some things way more important than others in life. As I write this I’m thinking about how I should be working on an essay (I’m helping a friend with tweaking it), but then when I start to think about all the things I should be doing, I would never to get to what I want to and love doing.

And this is an important point:

There needs to be a balance between what you need to do and what you want to do.

For if you do too much of one or the other you may reach a stand still, a place where you are not necessarily going back, but neither are you advancing – and this is never a good thing.

So make a mental or physical list of what you should be and want to be doing and figure out what comes first, next, and so on.

Until the next post of blog discovery!

Thanks for reading

Jocie 🙂

Comments on: "It’s begun…" (2)

  1. Sounds like a plan for me, I was wondering some of the same things myself.

    Let me see… Well I believe that as soon as you post something of your own; be it a view, character, story idea, essay, poem… whatever. You give the rights to claiming it is entirely yours completely. This is because it is now on the public domain, literally anyone and everyone can see and copy it if they like. Plus, no idea is truly original, trust me, sadly it ain’t. The aryt is to make old ideas interesting which is part of what your problem is.

    I’d ask the person via e-mail or whatever if it’s okay for you to copy it anyway, out of politeness. If they don’t reply within a day or so, use it and credit them fully, maybe place a link to their own blog at the end of your post out of niceties. If they don’t get back to you, I’d do all those things anyway. If they don’t want you to use it, highlight the point I made about the public domain and if they still refuse, take it down.

    It really depends on the context of how you use it, if you use their post as an example as how not to make a blog interesting (mine is a prime example) then by all means, there’s reason why they may not enjoy the point being made. however I’m sure you seem the type to want to put a positive light on things, especially if it is other people’s work so I shouldn’t worry too much on that happening.

    • Seeing your comment this morning has made me sooo happy! Not sure how you fell upon my blog, but glad you did.
      I will check yours out 🙂 Also thank you for your explanation, puts things into light for me, and you are right. I don’t think I’d likely use another person’s blog as a negative example.
      If I needed an example I might generalize, but I would really be upset if someone used my blog for a negative example as it would put me in a bad position for prospective readers and that would be sad.
      I’m all for “do unto others as you’d have them do unto you”.
      Take care!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

