In the words of Jocelyn O.

Unsure

As I  have begun my quest to become a serious blogger only a mere two weeks ago, it worries me that in those two weeks the only thing I have written are 3 posts on my “Author’s Blog”: my first longer post introducing myself as a blogger and aspiring writer and a short one explaining how my being tired has gotten in the way of writing.

Around January I had promised myself that I would not let life, or the reasons that I attribute to it, keep me from my writing.

Now, today,  April 24th, 2011 I have realized that it is not only life that I let get in my way, but my fear.

It is a common enough emotion: for some people it pushes them forward to complete an action, but for others it is what holds them down. It is that sensation of falling into an eternal quicksand, in which, if they do not know how to get out of, they will determinedly struggle while the dense mass further grasps onto their straining bodies. If only they knew that all they need to do, is breathe and wiggle their legs.

Simple isn’t it? How a seemingly terrifying situation can be so easily resolved.

And this is what made me realize I’m allowing myself to be stuck in the quicksand of my worries and fears when with some effort and persistence I can bring myself out of it. All I need to do is wiggle my hands on my laptop’s keyboard or use a pencil to wiggle some words on paper.

What exactly are these worries and fears that plague my mind?

I wonder if anyone will ever read my words and truly care for them.
If there will be a person or persons that will actually look forward to reading my posts or possibly a future book that I may publish?

I always come to the same conclusion though:

If I don’t try I will never know!

As of right now I have no structure for the kinds of posts I plan to write on this blog. I do know that I have my author blog – which as I state in that blog will be 99% dedicated to my writing and other pieces of writing that I may find interesting and prone to discuss.

This blog though is a bit different as I want it to be more open: a place where people actually see my interests and my personality through them. A place where others can comment or discuss whatever the topic I post about is whether it be music, politics, my beliefs, my job as a piano teacher, or any other subject which touches my fancy.

Don’t expect anything uniform from my writing; I do not think I fit into any specific genre or style of writing as of this moment and I think it’s okay for me to keep it this way. Just as I enjoy reading many different books I also enjoy simply writing what is on my mind however it comes out.

At the end of the day as long as I’m writing someway, somehow then the particulars of what I am writing or how are not important.

Comments on: "Unsure" (2)

  1. I started mine in 2007. The first few months nobody but my wife and kids read it, but it grew over time. Hang in there.

    Dr. B, author, “The Mandolin Case”

    • Just Jocie said:

      Hello Dr. Tom Bibey,

      When I saw your comment on my dashboard, waiting for approval, I almost cried haha I yelled out to my husband – “oh my goodness someone actually commented on my blog on a post I just wrote today!!”

      I’m not sure how you found my blog, but I thank you for taking the time to comment on it and I will definitely check yours out. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

